Otto Haller

Otto Haller

Guest Professor

Prof. Dr. Otto Haller

Office Y32-J-84

Tel +41 44 635 48 44



1972 Degree of M.D., University of Zürich
1972 - 1975 Postdoctoral fellow at the Division of Experimental Microbiology, Institute of Medical Microbiology, University of Zürich, Switzerland
1975 - 1977 Research Associate at the Department of Immunology, Biomedical Center, University of Uppsala, Uppsala, Sweden
1977 - 1982 Tenured Research Associate at the Institute for Immunology and Virology, University of Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland
1982 - 1983 Visiting Assistant Professor at the Department of Virology, The Rockefeller University, New York, N.Y., USA
1983 -1989 Assistant Professor of Virology at the University of Zürich, Zürich Switzerland
1989 - 2012 Full Professor and Director of the Institute of Virology, Medical Center-University University of Freiburg, Freiburg, Germany.
2012 - present Professor emeritus, Institute of Virology, Medical Center-University of Freiburg, Freiburg, Germany
2018 - present Guest Professor, Department of Molecular Life Sciences (MLS), University of Zürich, Switzerland
Awards and Honors
1975 Fellowship of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences
1977 Research Award of the Swiss Society for Microbiology
1977 Swiss Cancer Prize
1985 Latsis Prize of the Swiss National Science Foundation
1996 Aronson Research Award of the Land Berlin
1996 - 1999 President of the German-Austrian-Swiss Society for Virology (GfV)
1998 Milstein Award of the International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research
1998 Ivanovsky Medal of the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences
1998 Member of the German Academy of Sciences LEOPOLDINA
1999 - 2006 Vice President, European Society for Clinical Virology (ESCV)
2000 Visiting Professor, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York
2006 - 2007 President, International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research (ISICR)
2009 - 2013 Founding President, European Society for Virology (ESV)
2009 Founding Member, European Academy of Microbiology (EAM)
2009 Award for Excellence in Teaching of the University of Freiburg
2009 Honorary Member of the European Society for Clinical Virology
2013 Honorary Lifetime Member of the International Cytokine and Interferon Society (ICIS)
2018 Loeffler-Frosch Medal of the Society for Virology (GfV) for Scientific Lifetime Achievement in Virology